George Dixon Academy

Portland Road, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B16 9GD

contact@georgedixonacademy.com

0121 566 6565

Key Dates and Events

Coming up:

1 March: Year 8 careers visit, Aston University

4 March: Year 9 SLB vaccinations

4- 8 March: National Careers Week assemblies

5 March: Careers fair, years 9 and 10

5 March: 8G1 and 8G2 geography fieldwork, Jewellery Quarter

5 March: Anti-bullying Ambassador training, Bishop Ullathorne School

6 March: 8D3 and 8D4 geography fieldwork, Jewellery Quarter

7 March: CityServe tasting session for students

7 March: World Book Day

8 March: Year 10 careers visit to Oxford University

11 – 15 March: Science Week

11 March: Frankenstein performance, academy hall

11 March: 8G3 and 8G4 geography fieldwork, Jewellery Quarter

13 March: Year 8 parents' evening

13 March: Water Aid geography workshops

13 March: 8D1 and 8D2 geography fieldwork, Jewellery Quarter

15 March: Final presentation at Children's Hospital, year 12 Biology, Chemistry, Health & Social Care

18-22 March: Easter assemblies with Birmingham City Mission

19 March: School production, Annie

20 March: Year 10 and year 12 careers talk, organ donors and transplants

20 March: Year 7 and year 12 history visit to Hampton Court Palace

20 March: Year 13 A Level Geography revision day, London

20 March: School production, Annie

21 March: School production, Annie

22 March: School closes for Easter

25 - 28 March: Easter camp

8 April: Staff training day

9 April: School opens for students

10 April: Year 9 Options Evening (1)

11 April: 10C and 10D GCSE History visit to Kenilworth Castle

12 April: 10A and 10B GCSE History visit to Kenilworth Castle

12 April: Year 11 GCSE PE practical moderation

15 April: Year 12 A Level RE visit to Cadbury World

18 April: Year 9 Options Evening (2)

18 April: Year 10 PSHE event, Calling It Out

22 April: Year 10 GCSE Geography fieldwork Carding Mill Valley

24 April: Year 10 GCSE Geography fieldwork, Carding Mill Valley

25 April: Year 7 and year 9 Junior Maths Challenge

26 April: Year 9 PSHE event, Working With Marcus

29 April: 7DGe1 and 7DGe2 geography fieldwork, Warley Woods

6 May: Bank Holiday

8 May: Year 10 parents evening

9 May: 7GGe1 and 7GGe2 geography fieldwork, Warley Woods

10 May: 7DGe3 and 7DGe 4 geography fieldwork, Warley Woods

13 May: 7GGe3 and 7GGe4 geography fieldwork, Warley Woods

24 May: School closes for half term

3 June: School opens for summer term

School Year 2023 to 2024

Autumn Term 2023

Term Starts: Monday 4 September 2023
Half Term: Monday 30 October 2023 to Friday 3 November 2023
Term Ends: Friday 22 December 2023

Spring Term 2024

Term Starts: Monday 8 January 2024
Half Term: Monday 12 February 2024 to Friday 16 February 2024
Term Ends: Friday 22 March 2024

Summer Term 2024

Term Starts: Monday 8 April 2024
Half Term: Monday 27 May 2024 to Friday 31 May 2024
Term Ends: Monday 22 July 2024

School Year 2024 to 2025

Autumn Term 2024

Term Starts: Monday 2 September 2024
Half-term: Monday 28 October 2024 to Friday 1 November 2024
Term ends: Friday 20 December 2024

Spring Term 2025

Term Starts: Monday 6 January 2025
Half-term: Monday 17 February 2025 to Friday 21 February 2025
Term ends: Friday 11 April 2025

Summer Term 2025

Term Starts: Monday 28 April 2025
Half-term: Monday 26 May 2025 to Friday 30 May 2025
Term ends: Monday 21 July 2025

Back to the Top